According to the Texas Family Code any persons desiring to enter into a ceremonial marriage in Texas must obtain a marriage license from the county clerk of any county in Texas.
Applying in person
We issue marriage licenses from 8:30a.m. to 4:00p.m. Monday-Friday. We are located on the 4th floor of the Midland County Courthouse, 500 N. Loraine Street.
To obtain a marriage license from the Midland County Clerk's office you must be at least 18 years old, both applicants must be present, submit proof of identity and age, provide a social security number, and pay a fee of $81.
If you have a premarital education course certificate from Twogether in Texas, the fee is $21.
If neither applicant is a resident of TEXAS an additional $100 will be charged.
A declaration of informal marriage is $46.
We accept cash, money orders and credit/debit cards (convenience fee applied). We do not accept personal checks.
Acceptable forms of identification:
- Certified copy of birth certificate
- Concealed handgun license
- Driver's license
- Matricular Identification
- Military Identification
- State Identification
There is a 72-hour waiting period after the license is issued before the marriage ceremony can take place unless:
- An applicant is a member of the armed forces of the United States and on active duty.
- You obtain a written waiver from a court with jurisdiction in family law cases.
- You complete a premarital education course and can produce a marriage education certificate from Twogether in Texas.
If a marriage ceremony has not been conducted before the 90th day after the date the license is issued, the marriage license expires.
unable to come in pereson
Unable to come in person to our office to apply for a formal marriage license application? Then join us via video conference.
The same basic requirements listed below apply, however, instead of coming into our office you will join us via your home computer.
Technical requirements include:
- Access to computer/laptop (NO CELL PHONES or TABLETS)
- Reliable, high-speed internet access
- Audio and visual capabilities (i.e., microphone, speakers, webcam)
Return of Marriage License
The person who performs a marriage ceremony is responsible for returning the marriage license to our office within 30 days from the date of marriage. The original license will be returned to you once it has been recorded.
Certified Copy of Marriage License
A certified copy of a marriage license filed in the Midland County Clerk's office may be obtained for $7 per certified copy. If requesting a certified copy of a marriage license by mail, please include the name of both parties (maiden), marriage date and a return address, along with a money order or cashiers check for the correct fee. If you would like to pay with a credit or debit card please include your phone number and we can take your payment over the phone. We do not accept personal checks.
County ClerkPhysical Address
500 N Loraine Street
Midland, TX 79701
Monday - Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Recordings received after 4 PM. will be processed on the following business day.
BIRTH AND DEATH CERTIFICATE HOURS
We stop issuing birth and death certificates at 4:30 PM.
MARRIAGE LICENSE HOURS
We stop issuing marriage licenses at 4:00 PM.
ACKNOWLEDGMENTS OF PATERNITY HOURS
Please call 432-688-4401 for an appointment.